Prairie Land School Division receives two Alberta School Boards Association awards

Prairie Land School Division (PLSD) was presented with the Community Engagement and Friends of Education awards at the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) awards celebration held in November 2021.

The awards recognize the commitment to community engagement Prairie Land has undertaken through information and involvement of the school community.

“Prairie Land is very fortunate to be recognized for our community engagement and our board of trustees is very pleased to be awarded,” PLSD Superintendent Cam McKeage tells the Mail.

The Friends of Education Award also recognizes the role Starland County has played in its involvement in building two new schools for the villages of Delia and Morrin. With both builds, community-developed non-profit societies, the Delia School Enhancement Society (DSES) and Friends of Morrin School Council (FMSC), were established.

These societies have worked tirelessly to raise funds to include additional educational and community space within the construction of the new schools; Starland County was a large contributor, donating $200,000 to each campaign totaling $400,000 in contributions.

“Schools are the hub of the community,” Mr. McKeage says.

He adds these awards are very important to the board of trustees and the school division and showcase the viability of rural Alberta is alive and well.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *